Arbitration as the Method of Settlement of Investment Disputes against the Kyrgyz Republic
AKIpress Analytics section, March 19, 2013

The Kyrgyz Republic has already participated in several arbitration proceedings. Therefore, it might be reasonable to analyze peculiarities of legal regulation of arbitration in the KR, the causes and consequences of arbitration disputes and make relevant conclusions…

What risks foreign investors should take into account while investing into the Kyrgyz mining sector,
The Times of Central Asia, March 1, 2012.

Overview of Anti-Corruption Laws in Kyrgyz Republic,
Comparative Summary of Anti-Corruption Laws in the CIS Economic Region, 2011,
The CIS Leading Council Network.

What a foreigner should know about tax regime in the Kyrgyz Republic?
The Times of Central Asia, publication expected.

Kyrgyzstan is not an offshore zone and does not provide tax exemptions, but the rates of many of them are not very high.

Anti-Corruption Laws in the Kyrgyz Republic: 8 Frequently Asked Questions

1. What qualifies as corruption?

Corruption refers to a white-collar crime covering such offences as receiving material and other benefits and advantages, as well as the provision of these benefits and advantages to individuals and legal entities, bribery, forgery, negligence of official duty, misappropriation of state property and abuse of official status and powers that threaten the interests of society and the state.

2. Which laws establish anti-corruption measures in the Kyrgyz Republic?

Anti-corruption measures are detailed in numerous areas of Kyrgyz law, the most notable being the laws on Anti-Corruption, Public Service, Municipal Service, Public Procurement, Combating Financing of Terrorism and Legalization of Illegally Generated Revenues (Money Laundering), Declaring and Publication of Data on Revenues, Obligations and Property of Persons Occupying Political and Other Special State Positions, and Close Relatives Thereof, and certain provisions of the Administrative and Criminal Codes of the Kyrgyz Republic.

3. Who is subject to anti-corruption regulation in the Kyrgyz Republic?

All i) governmental and ii) municipal officials, iii) officials of the National Bank, iv) heads of state enterprises, engaged in corruption, v) individuals (citizens of the Kyrgyz Republic and foreign individuals) and legal entities, including their officials and employees, unlawfully providing material benefits, gifts, advantages or services to governmental, municipal officials and heads of state enterprises as well as vi) members of procurement commission and vii) members of Judges Selection Council are subject to Anti-corruption laws of the Kyrgyz Republic. The governmental officials include political public officials, judicial officials and administrative public officials. Municipal officials comprise of political municipal officials and administrative municipal officials.

4. What kind of business amenities to governmental officials are prohibited by Anti-corruption laws?

As a general rule, governmental officials are prohibited to accept gifts. However, Anti-corruption laws allow accepting of gifts by governmental officials provided that:
- the value of the gift provided to the governmental official does not exceed 10 index rates (about USD 21);
- the gifts are presented during the official meeting to public officials pursuant to governmental meeting protocols.

5. Are there any restrictions with regard to business amenities to private sector provided by Anti-corruption laws?

Anti-corruption laws prohibit:
- the exchange of gifts between commercial companies, and state owned enterprises and organisations, unless the value of such gift is less than 10 index rates (about USD 21);
- the giving/accepting of a gift, money, securities, or other assets as well as the unlawful provision of services to a person with managerial functions working at a commercial company for the purposes of encouraging such person to take or not to take action in the interest of the giver of the bribe by using his/her managerial functions.

6. What kind of liability is prescribed for violation of Anti-corruption laws?

Violations of Anti-corruption laws lead to administrative and criminal liability. Administrative liability comprises of fines, termination of office and restriction on serving as governmental, municipal or corporate officer for a certain period of time. Criminal liability includes besides fines, termination of office and restriction on serving as governmental, municipal or corporate officer for a certain period of time, confiscation of property, imprisonment. The liability is imposed on both persons involved in corruption (for instance, bribe-giver and bribe-receiver). Legal entities are not subject to criminal liability.

7. What agencies are responsible for investigating and prosecuting corruption?

Corruption-related crimes are investigated and prosecuted by the following agencies: Anti-Corruption Service under the State Committee of National Security, Ministry of Internal Affairs, State Service on Fighting Economic Crimes under the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic (Financial Police) and the General Prosecutor’s Office.

8. Are there statutes of limitations during which an offence can be prosecuted?

The statute of limitations for prosecution of violations of Anti-corruption laws vary from 1 up to 10 years depending on the gravity of the criminal offence, determined according to the maximum punishment stipulated for each specific offence.

 

 

Igemberdieva Street 1A, Bishkek
720020, Kyrgyz Republic

            Tel: (+996 312) 66-60-60; 66-63-63      
                   (+996 312) 97-68-43;

 

Fax: (+996 312) 66-27-88

        Location map

© 2006-2014. Kalikova & Associates. All rights reserved. Disclaimer

Арбитраж как способ разрешения инвестиционных споров с Кыргызской Республикой Раздел
«Аналитика» информационного агентства АКИpress, 19 марта 2013 года

Кыргызская Республика уже приняла участие в нескольких арбитражных разбирательствах. Поэтому есть смысл проанализировать… причины и последствия арбитражных споров и сделать соответствующие выводы.

Обзор антикоррупционного законодательства Кыргызской Республики,
Сравнительный обзор антикоррупционного законодательства в Экономическом пространстве СНГ, 2011,
The CIS Leading Council Network.

Что должен знать иностранец о налоговом режиме Кыргызской Республике?
Таймс оф Сентрал Эйжа, публикация ожидается.

Кыргызстан не является оффшорной зоной и не предоставляет полное освобождение от налогов, но ставки многих из них действительно невысоки.

Антикоррупционное законодательство Кыргызской Республики: 8 наиболее часто задаваемых вопросов

1. Что квалифицируется как коррупция?

Коррупция относится к должностным преступлениям, включающим такие правонарушения как получение материальных, любых иных благ и преимуществ, а также предоставление этих благ и преимуществ физическим и юридическим лицам, взяточничество, служебный подлог, недобросовестное исполнение должностных обязанностей, хищение государственного имущества и злоупотребление должностным положением и полномочиями, создающие угрозу интересам общества или государства.

2. Какие нормативные правовые акты предусматривают антикоррупционные меры в Кыргызской Республике?

Антикоррупционные меры предусматриваются в ряде законодательных актов Кыргызской Республики, самыми значимыми из которых являются законы о противодействии коррупции, государственной службе, муниципальной службе, государственных закупках, борьбе с финансированием терроризма и легализацией незаконно полученных доходов (отмыванием денег), декларировании и публикации сведений о доходах, обязательствах и имуществе лиц, замещающих политические и иные специальные государственные должности, а также их близких родственников и некоторые положения Кодекса об административной ответственности и Уголовного кодекса Кыргызской Республики.

3. Кто является субъектом антикоррупционного регулирования в Кыргызской Республике?

Все i) государственные и ii) муниципальные служащие, iii) служащие Национального банка, iv) руководители государственных предприятий, совершающие коррупционные действия, v) физические лица (граждане Кыргызской Республики и иностранных государств) и юридические лица, включая их должностных лиц и работников, незаконно предоставляющие материальные блага, подношения, преимущества или услуги государственным или муниципальным служащим и руководителям государственных предприятий, а также vi) члены тендерных комиссий и vii) члены Совета по отбору судей являются субъектами антикоррупционного законодательства Кыргызской Республики. Государственные служащие включают политических государственных служащих, судей, и административных государственных служащих. Муниципальные служащие подразделяются на политических и административных муниципальных служащих.

4. Какие деловые блага государственным служащим запрещены антикорруционным законодательством?

Государственным служащим запрещено получать подношения. Однако, антикоррупционное законодательство позволяет государственным служащим получать подношения при условии что:
- стоимость подношений не должно превышать 10 расчетных показателей (около 21 дол. США);
- подношения предоставлены государственным служащим во время официальных встреч в связи с протокольными мероприятиями.

5. Какие ограничения предусмотрены антикоррупционным законодательством в отношении деловых благ частным компаниям?

Антикоррупционное законодательство запрещает:
- дарение подношений в отношениях между коммерческими организациями, и государственными предприятиями и учреждениями, стоимость которых превышает 10 расчетных показателей (около 21 дол. США);
- передача/получение лицом, выполняющим управленческие функции в коммерческой организации, подношений, денег, ценных бумаг, иного имущества, а равно незаконное оказание ему услуг имущественного характера за совершение действий (бездействия) в интересах дающего в связи с занимаемым этим лицом служебного положения.

6. Какая ответственность предусмотрена за нарушение антикоррупционного законодательства?

Нарушение антикоррупционного законодательства влечет административную и уголовную ответственность. Административная ответственность предусматривает штрафы, отстранение от должности и запрет на занятие государственной, муниципальной или корпоративной должности в течение определенного срока. Уголовная ответственность предусматривает кроме штрафа, отстранения от должности и запрета на занятие государственной, муниципальной или корпоративной должности в течение определенного срока, конфискация имущества, также тюремное заключение. Ответственность возлагается на лица, совершающие коррупционные действия (например, взяткодатель и взяточник). Юридические лица не несут уголовную ответственность.

7. Какие органы осуществляют расследование и преследование коррупции?

Преступления, связанные с коррупцией расследуют следующие органы: Антикоррупционная служба при Государственном комитете национальной безопасности, Министерство Внутренних Дел, Государственная служба по борьбе с экономическими преступлениями при Правительстве Кыргызской Республики (Финансовая полиция) и Генеральная Прокуратура Кыргызской Республики.

8. Существуют ли сроки давности для привлечения виновных лиц к уголовной ответственности?

Срок давности для привлечения к ответственности за нарушение антикоррупционного законодательства варьируется от 1 до 10 лет в зависимости от тяжести преступления и определяется в соответствии с максимальным наказанием, предусмотренным для каждого конкретного преступления.

 

 

Бизнес-центр «АВРОРА»,
7 этаж,
ул. Игембердиева 1А, г. Бишкек,
720020, Кыргызская Республика
Тел: (+996 312) 66-60-60;
66-63-63;
97-68-43;
Факс: (+996 312) 66-27-88

           Схема проезда

© 2006-2014. Kalikova & Associates. Все права защищены. Предупреждение