Arbitration as the Method of Settlement of Investment Disputes against the Kyrgyz Republic
AKIpress Analytics section, March 19, 2013

The Kyrgyz Republic has already participated in several arbitration proceedings. Therefore, it might be reasonable to analyze peculiarities of legal regulation of arbitration in the KR, the causes and consequences of arbitration disputes and make relevant conclusions…

What risks foreign investors should take into account while investing into the Kyrgyz mining sector,
The Times of Central Asia, March 1, 2012.

Overview of Anti-Corruption Laws in Kyrgyz Republic,
Comparative Summary of Anti-Corruption Laws in the CIS Economic Region, 2011,
The CIS Leading Council Network.

What a foreigner should know about tax regime in the Kyrgyz Republic?
The Times of Central Asia, publication expected.

Kyrgyzstan is not an offshore zone and does not provide tax exemptions, but the rates of many of them are not very high.

Construction and Operation of a Hydropower Plant in the Kyrgyz Republic: 10 Frequently Asked Questions

10. Does a company need to execute a transmission agreement and, if so, with whom is such an agreement executed?

Kyrgyz law requires energy companies to execute electricity transmission agreements to ensure the transmission of electricity generated by the HPP. The agreement must be signed with the National Electric Grid of Kyrgyzstan OJSC or with power distribution companies which own grids. These agreements are executed on a standardized form which has been approved by the SDRFEF. Any changes to the standardized terms of the agreement must be approved by the SDRFEF.

As of March 2013

9. Why do companies execute electricity sales agreements and with whom are these agreements executed?

Pursuant to Kyrgyz law, companies must execute electricity sales agreements with power distribution companies to ensure that electricity which has been generated can be sold. Such agreements are executed on a standardized form approved by the SDRFEF.

There are four power distribution companies in the Kyrgyz Republic which own provincial distribution networks and supply electricity to consumers: Severelectro OJSC, Vostokelectro OJSC, Oshelectro OJSC and Jalalabatelectro OJSC.

8. What is an environmental impact report and what is its purpose?

An environmental impact report is a report issued by the State Agency on Environmental Protection and Forestry under the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic, certifying the project as environmentally sound after completing the review and appraisal of the FS for the HPP construction project. Each company wishing to construct an HPP must obtain an environmental impact report for each proposed project. The report is a prerequisite for obtaining a construction permit. The environmental impact report must also be publicized and endorsed by public opinion polls.

7. Who develops HPP construction project feasibility studies?

Before starting the construction of any HPP, it is necessary to develop a special document, a feasibility study (the “FS”) defining specific location, capacity, and other technical qualities of the future HPP. To develop the FS, the customer (owner of the land plot on which the HPP construction is planned) must enter into the FS development agreement with the organization having relevant experience and qualification. Afterwards, the FS will be used as a basis for drafting the HPP planning documentation.

6. What state body is charged with regulating the operation of an HPP and what documents are required to operate an HPP?

Under Kyrgyz law, the Ministry of Energy and Industry of the Kyrgyz Republic is charged with regulating the operations of all HPPs. A company generating electricity must obtain a license to generate electricity from the State Department for the Regulation of Fuel and Energy Facilities of the Ministry of Energy and Industry of the Kyrgyz Republic (SDRFEF) .

5. How can a company bid for the rights to construct a new HPP?

According to Kyrgyz law, the rights to construct a new HPP (except for major electric energy production capacities and main lines of electric grids) must be awarded by tender by the Ministry of Energy and Industry of the Kyrgyz Republic which is charged with organizing and conducting tenders on an annual basis.

Construction of major electric energy production capacities is carried out in accordance with the National Energy Program or separate resolution of the KR Government.

4. How much does it cost to obtain these licenses and permits?

The construction license costs 300 Kyrgyz Soms (approximately $ 6.26 USD) each. The construction permit is issued free of charge.

3. What licenses are necessary for the construction of an HPP?

A contractor performing construction work must obtain a construction license from the State Agency for Architecture, Construction and Housing and Public Utility Sector under the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic. The contractor must also be able to construct the HPP within a certain capacity (MW). The construction license does not have an expiry date and is valid throughout the country.

The construction license is issued within 30 days of the date of filing a full set of documents required.

2. What land use rights are required to construct an HPP?

Any company wishing to construct an HPP must hold title to the land where the HPP will be constructed or hold temporary land use rights. In addition, this land must be zoned for industrial use.

Foreign entities, which Kyrgyz law defines as any entity registered in the Kyrgyz Republic with at least 20 percent of shares being owned by a foreigner, or in any other manner putting them under control of a foreigner, are subject to certain limitations which include a prohibition on land ownership and a 50 year cap on obtaining temporary land use rights to lands.

1. What are some of the regulatory requirements associated with the construction and operation of a hydropower plant (HPP) in the Kyrgyz Republic?

To design, construct and operate an HPP, each entity must obtain the required licenses, permits and consent. Depending on the project, these may include:

- obtaining rights to construct the HPP;
- obtaining rights to the land plot upon which the HPP will be constructed;
- obtaining all necessary construction licenses and permits for the project;
- obtaining licenses to generate and to sell electricity;
- commissioning an environmental impact report;
- executing an electricity sales agreement and an agreement for connection to the electricity grid.

Syndicate content

 

 

71 Erkindik Avenue, Bishkek,
720040, Kyrgyz Republic.
            Tel: (+996 312) 66-60-60; 66-63-63      
                   (+996 312) 66-22-21; 66-22-50      
Fax: (+996 312) 66-27-88

        Location map

© 2006-2014. Kalikova & Associates. All rights reserved. Disclaimer

Арбитраж как способ разрешения инвестиционных споров с Кыргызской Республикой Раздел
«Аналитика» информационного агентства АКИpress, 19 марта 2013 года

Кыргызская Республика уже приняла участие в нескольких арбитражных разбирательствах. Поэтому есть смысл проанализировать… причины и последствия арбитражных споров и сделать соответствующие выводы.

Обзор антикоррупционного законодательства Кыргызской Республики,
Сравнительный обзор антикоррупционного законодательства в Экономическом пространстве СНГ, 2011,
The CIS Leading Council Network.

Что должен знать иностранец о налоговом режиме Кыргызской Республике?
Таймс оф Сентрал Эйжа, публикация ожидается.

Кыргызстан не является оффшорной зоной и не предоставляет полное освобождение от налогов, но ставки многих из них действительно невысоки.

Строительство и эксплуатация гидроэлектростанций в Кыргызской Республике: 10 часто задаваемых вопросов

10. Должна ли компания заключать договор передачи электроэнергии и если должна, то с кем?

Законодательство требует, чтобы энергокомпании заключали договоры передачи электроэнергии, чтобы обеспечить передачу электрической энергии, вырабатываемой ГЭС. Договор должен быть заключен с ОАО «Национальная Электрическая Сеть Кыргызстана» или с энергораспределительными компаниями, являющимися владельцами электрических передающих сетей. Эти договоры заключаются в типовой форме, утвержденной ГДРТЭК. Любые изменения в типовые условия договора должны утверждаться ГДРТЭК.

По состоянию на март 2013 года

9. Зачем компании заключают договоры на продажу электроэнергии и с кем заключаются подобные договоры?

Согласно Законодательству компании обязаны заключать договоры продажи электроэнергии с энергораспределительными компаниями, чтобы обеспечить продажу вырабатываемого электричества. Такие договоры заключаются в стандартной форме, утверждаемой ГДРТЭК.

В Кыргызской Республике действуют четыре энергораспределительные компании, которые владеют региональными распределительными сетями и поставляют электричество конечным потребителям: ОАО «Северэлектро», ОАО «Востокэлектро», ОАО «Ошэлектро» и ОАО «Жалалабадэлектро».

8. Что означает заключение экологической экспертизы и какова его цель?

Заключение экологической экспертизы означает заключение экологической безопасности проекта, выдаваемое Государственным Агентством охраны окружающей среды и лесного хозяйства при Правительстве Кыргызской Республики по итогам рассмотрения и экспертизы ТЭО строительства ГЭС. Каждая компания, желающая построить ГЭС, должна получить заключение экологической экспертизы для каждого предложенного проекта. Заключение является условием для получения разрешения на строительство. Заключения экологической экспертизы должны быть опубликованы и вынесены на общественное обсуждение.

7. Кто разрабатывает технико-экономическое обоснование строительства ГЭС?

До начала строительства любой ГЭС требуется разработать специальный документ – технико-экономическое обоснование (далее – «ТЭО»), определяющий конкретное месторасположение ГЭС, ее мощность и другие технические характеристики будущей ГЭС. Для разработки ТЭО заказчик (владелец земельного участка, на котором планируется строительство ГЭС) должен заключить договор на разработку ТЭО с организацией, имеющей соответствующий опыт и квалификацию. В последующем на основании ТЭО будет разрабатываться проектная документация по ГЭС.

6. Какой государственный орган регулирует эксплуатацию ГЭС и какие документы необходимы для эксплуатации ГЭС?

По Законодательству Министерство энергетики и промышленности Кыргызской Республики регулирует деятельность всех ГЭС. Компания, вырабатывающая электроэнергию, должна получить лицензию на выработку (производство) электроэнергии от Государственного департамента по регулированию топливно-энергетического комплекса при Министерстве энергетики и промышленности Кыргызской Республики (далее - «ГДРТЭК»).

5. Какова процедура подачи заявления на получение прав на строительство новой ГЭС?

Согласно Законодательству права на строительство новой ГЭС (за исключением крупных электроэнергетических производственных мощностей и участков магистральной электрической сети) предоставляются путем проведения тендера Министерством энергетики и промышленности Кыргызской Республики, которое отвечает за организацию и проведение тендеров на ежегодной основе.

Строительство крупных электроэнергетических производственных мощностей производится в соответствии с Национальной энергетической программой или отдельным постановлением Правительства Кыргызской Республики.

4. Сколько стоят лицензии и разрешения на строительство?

Лицензия на строительство стоит 300 сомов (примерно 6,26 долларов США) каждая. Разрешение на строительство выдается бесплатно.

3. Какие лицензии необходимы для строительства ГЭС?

Подрядчик, выполняющий строительные работы, должен получить лицензию на строительство от Государственного Агентства Архитектуры, Строительства и Жилищно-Коммунального хозяйства при Правительстве Кыргызской Республики. Подрядчик должен иметь возможность для строительства ГЭС определенной мощности (MВт). Лицензия на строительство не имеет срока действия и действует на территории всей страны.

Лицензия на строительство выдается в течение 30 дней с даты подачи полного пакета необходимых документов.

2. Какие права на земельный участок необходимы при строительстве ГЭС?

Любая компания, желающая построить ГЭС, должна обладать правом собственности на земельный участок, на котором будет построена ГЭС, или правом временного пользования на данный земельный участок. Кроме того, земельный участок должен относиться к землям промышленности.

1. Каковы регуляторные требования к строительству и эксплуатации гидроэлектростанций (далее – «ГЭС») в Кыргызской Республике?

Для проектирования, строительства и эксплуатации ГЭС необходимо получить соответствующие лицензии и разрешения от уполномоченных органов. В частности, требуется:

- получить права на строительство ГЭС;
- получить права на земельный участок для строительства ГЭС;
- получить необходимые лицензии на строительство и разрешение на строительство;
- получить лицензии на производство и продажу электроэнергии;
- разработать технико-экономическое обоснование строительства ГЭС;
- получить заключение экологической экспертизы;

RSS-материал

 

 

Бизнес-центр «АВРОРА»,
7 этаж,
ул. Игембердиева 1А, г. Бишкек,
720020, Кыргызская Республика
Тел: (+996 312) 66-60-60;
66-63-63;
97-68-43;
Факс: (+996 312) 66-27-88

           Схема проезда

© 2006-2014. Kalikova & Associates. Все права защищены. Предупреждение